Change YSR district name

July 12, 2014 10:38
Change YSR district name

Kadapa [Cuddapah] district has been renamed with late Chief Minister YS Rajasekhar Reddy name in the year 2010 following his death by then government of Andhra Pradesh. Since then, it was called as YSR Kadapa district. However, with the state getting divided and Telugu Desam party coming into power, several activists are demanding to reconsider the name of Kadapa.

Telugu Yuvatha state secretaries Surya Prakash and B Ramgopal Reddy have written a letter to AP CM Chandrababu Naidu to reconsider YSR district name. “Kadapa means threshold because it the gateway for Lord Balaji and with renaming with YSR, the district has lost its charm. We demand the state government to change the name of the district and replace with the old one,” said Surya Prakash.

This update did not reach the YSR Congress party yet but the party will definitely object this as they treat YSR as the one and only leader who developed Andhra Pradesh like never before. Whatever it may be, if the present AP government reconsiders the decision, it will turn out to be a huge controversy.

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)