Vice-president Election Today

August 05, 2017 09:32
Vice-president Election Today

Vice-president Election Today: The Vice-president elections 2017 will be held today and the leaders of both the houses of Parliament will decide the next Vice-president of the country. The 15th Vice-president of the country will be elected by the members of parliament from Rajyasabha and Loksabha through voting. The voting starts at 10 AM and will end up at 5 PM. The counting starts after 5 PM and the next Vice-president will be declared late in the evening today itself. Senior BJP leader and former Union minister M Venkaiah Naidu has been fielded by BJP and its allies who have been supporting BJP. M Venkaiah Naidu has been a loyal leader of BJP from the past four decades and he hails from Andhra Pradesh.

There are talks that it was Modi's strategy to send Venkaiah Naidu to Vice-president role though he was not much interested. He has been forced to resign informed a source. The veteran leader rised to ranks and is one prominent leader of the party. The opposition parties led by Congress (18 parties) have been supporting Gopala Krishna Gandhi who is the former Governor of West Bengal. Gopala Krishna Gandhi is a former diplomat and is the grand son of Mahatma Gandhi.

It is expected by M Venkaiah Naidu will take the lead as BJP and its supporting parties have been leading both the houses. BJP also has the support of three non-NDA parties - AIADMK, Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) and Jagan Mohan Reddy's YSR Congress. Even JDU from Bihar has been supporting BJP. The total number of votes are 790 including both the houses and the nominated members. M Venkaiah Naidu is said to have the support of 484 leaders in total and 395 votes are enough for victory. Hence it is a cake walk for M Venkaiah Naidu to end up victorious in the Vice-president election.

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)