TDP Completes 40 years in Telugu Politics

March 29, 2022 13:11
TDP Completes 40 years in Telugu Politics

(Image source from:

TDP Completes 40 years in Telugu Politics:- Veteran actor and politician Nandamuri Taraka Rama Rao garu floated Telugu Desam Party on March 29th, 1982 and the party completed 40 years of journey in Telugu states. NTR's political entry and TDP's victory was a sensation in united Andhra Pradesh. The party witnessed several failures, debacles over the years and bounced back at the right time. Nara Chandrababu Naidu took over the legacy from NTR and he was successful in driving the party. TDP won the polls under the leadership of NTR in 1983, 1985, 1989 and 1994. TDP got more than 200 Assembly seats in all the elections.

Chandrababu took his oath as Chief Minister for the first time in 1995. He also turned a crucial player in the national politics and showed a clear domination in the AP politics. TDP emerged as a clear winner in 1999 polls with 180 seats. But TDP witnessed a huge defeat in 2004 and 2009 elections and Congress formed the government. TDP returned back to power in AP in 2014 polls and the party got vanished in Telangana after the state was formed. All the leaders in Telangana moved to other parties. In 2019 polls, TDP lost to YSRCP and is the major opposition party. TDP is the weakest party now after the party was formed. Most of the crucial and senior leaders are inactive and the party lost cadre badly.

It would be a challenge for TDP to dethrone YSRCP and return back to the power in the 2024 polls. Chandrababu's son Nara Lokesh is trying hard to make his impact. He faced a lot of heat and was trolled badly in the 2019 polls. For now, TDP completes a remarkable journey of 40 years.

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)
Tagged Under :
TDP  NTR  Chandrababu Naidu  AP politics