MLAs, Ministers In Telangana Store Funds For Election Spend Under CDP

July 03, 2017 11:31
MLAs, Ministers In Telangana Store Funds For Election Spend Under CDP

MLAs, Ministers In Telangana Store Funds For Election Spend Under CDP:- Telangana Chief Minister Mr. K. Chandrasekhar Rao, has taken a serious note of the fact that some MLAs and a few Ministers are not spending money allotted to them under the Constituency Development Programme (CDP).

Out of 119 MLAs, only 15 had spent about 75% of the funds allocated to them, in the last three years, according to a report prepared by the State Government. The report says, around 64 MLAs had spent between 50 and 75% of the funds, and 37 MLAs between 25 and 50%. In the last three years, four MLAs - B. Ganesh (Nizamabad Urban), Dasyam Vinaya Bhaskar (Warangal West), Konda Surekha (Warangal East) and IT minister K.T. Rama Rao - had spent less than 25% of funds.

And surprisingly, Mr. Chandrasekhar Rao himself has spent less than 50 per cent of the funds, whereas the Opposition leader  K. Jana Reddy in his Nagarjunasagar constituency, has spent more than 75% of the funds.

K Chandrasekhar Rao

In 2015-16, about Rs 1.50 crore was provided by the government to each of the 120 MLAs (including the nominated member) and 40 MLCs. For 2016-17, the amount was doubled to Rs 3 crore. Each MLA and MLC were provided an aggregate of Rs 7.50 crore, over three years. The fund do not lapse, and are carried over to the next year.

An MLA said: “For the first few years, the legislators prefer keeping the money, and spend it only before elections. They believe that this way people will remember what the MLA has done for the constituency and vote for them again.”

In the Cabinet, more than 75% of the funds have been spent by the Forest Minister Jogu Ramanna (Adilabad), whereas tribal welfare minister A. Chandulal (Mulugu) spent less than 50%. Assembly Speaker S. Madhusudanachary (Bhupalpally) has spent less than 50% and Deputy Speaker Padma Devender Reddy (Medak) 75%. The opposition MLAs fared significantly better. PCC president N. Uttam Kumar Reddy (Huzurnagar) and Congress MLAs D.K. Aruna (Gadwal), J. Geeta Reddy (Zaheerabad), BJP MLA G. Kishan Reddy (Amberpet), Telangana BJP president and Dr K. Laxman (Musheerabad), Telugu Desam MLA A. Revanth Reddy (Kodangal) and MIM floor leader Akbaruddin Owaisi (Chandray-anagutta) have spent about 75% of the funds in the development of their individual constituency.

Nizamabad Rural MLA Bajireddy Govardhan had spent less than 50% of the funds, according to the state government report. When contacted, he said he had spent all the funds and was waiting for more. Along the lines of MP Local Area Development Scheme, the CM is thinking of reframing the guidelines for CDP. To every MP, the Centre provides Rs 5 crore per year. In two installments, the fund are released. In the first tranche, the centre releases Rs 2.50 crore. The second installment is not released, if the MP has Rs 1.75 crore unspent.

According to officials close to Mr Chandrasekhar Rao, he is also considering the idea of releasing the funds as reimbursement. This implies only after spending on the development of the constituency, an MLA will be eligible to get funds.

Funds For Each MLA

 2015-16: Rs 1.50 crore
 2016-17: Rs 3 crore
 2017-18: Rs 3 crore

Funds Spent By MLAs In 3 Years

 Below 25%: 4
 25-50%: 37
 50-75%: 64
 75%+: 15

Not Much Spent

Chief Minister K. Chandra-sekhar Rao: Below 50%
IT Minister K.T. Rama Rao: Below 25%
Forest minister J. Ramanna: 75%+


T. Harish Rao, Pocharam Srinivas Reddy, Etala Rajendar, P. Mahendar Reddy, Talasani Srinivasa Yadav, K. Padma Rao, Jupally Krishna Rao, G. Jagadish Reddy.

Opposition MLAs

 K. Jana Reddy (Cong): 75%
 G. Kishan Reddy (BJP): 75%
 Akbaruddin Owaisi (MIM): 75%
 Sunnam Rajaiah (CPM): 50%
 A. Revanth Reddy (TD): 75%

Ministers Less Than 50% spent

 A. Chandulal, Dr C. Laxma Reddy, A. Indrakaran Reddy


If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)