First time BJP MPs Excell in performance

May 27, 2015 11:52
First time BJP MPs Excell in performance

First-time Bharatiya Janata Party, Lok Sabha member from Rajasthan, PP Chaudhary, has been selected for the Sansad Ratna 2015 Awards for his performance in the house till the end of the budget session.

"Chaudhary is among four Lok Sabha members selected for the Sansad Ratna 2015 Awards for outstanding performance in the 16th Lok Sabha till the end of the budget session," K Srinivasan, chairman, Prime Point Foundation announced. The foundation is a non-governmental organization, which is awarding the top performing members of parliament based on the number of debates they participate, number of questions raised, the number of private member bills introduced and the attendance.

There are three 'Sansad Ratna Awards 2015' to be given to the toppers in three categories, viz. Debates, private member’s bills and questions. The first time members for the cumulative overall tally gets the 'Sansad Navodit Ratna 2015' Award. The selection is based on the data provided by PRS Legislative Research and the Lok Sabha Secretariat.

Shri Chaudhary bags two awards - one for participating in 176 debates (highest among all members) and another for overall tally among first time members. Incidentally, he is also the topper among all the Lok Sabha members with a total points of 384 (debates, questions raised and private member bills introduced).

Shiv Sena member Chandu Barne Shirang from Maharashtra raised the highest number of questions - 314 questions and bagged the award under the questions category. Earning 355 points, he becomes second in the Lok Sabha.

Nishikant Dubey, BJP MP from Jharkhand, bags the award in the private members bills category by introducing 11 bills. By earning 328 points, Dubey is ranked number three in the Lok Sabha based on his overall performance.

In the women's category, 'Sansad Mahila Ratna Award 2015' Supriya Sule of NCP MP from Maharashtra has bagged the award by securing an overall cumulative points of 321 points. She stands fifth among all Lok Sabha members.

Union minister Hansraj G. Ahir (Maharashtra), Anand Rao Adsul (Maharashtra) and Arjun Ram Meghwal (Rajasthan) members of Lok Sabha were part of the committee of judges this year who have evaluated the MPs performances.

BJP MPs were very active and is equipped with information while attending the parliament. Prime minister Modi has instructed his MPs to be proactive in the house and to be the part of the legislation. It is a shame to know that none of the Congress MPs have qualified for the awards. As usual congress MPs attend the house only to create ruckus and applause for whatever foolishness their leader Rahul Gandhi tells.

By Premji

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)
Tagged Under :
Sansad Ratna Awards  BJP  PP Chaudhary