Panchayat Elections Concluded

July 23, 2013 14:06
Panchayat Elections Concluded

First phase of Panchayat elections concluded in the State.  Although the time allowed to franchile the voting is till 1.00 pm, the voters who are in the queue by 1.00 pm are allowed to vote as per the instructions of the State Election Commissioner Navin Mittal.  The voters who joined the queue by one are given chits so that they will be allowed to vote.  He announced that the 11 Panchayat polls that were postponed due to untimely rains will be held on 31st July.

Some miscreants poured ink in the ballot box at Vendantapuram polling center in Tirupati that made the polling to stop.  Locals also complained that outsiders without a vote there were found voting fraudulently.  

At least four persons were wounded in a clash between Congress and YSR Congress party men at Cheemakurthi in Prakasham District.  

Excepting for a few incidents reported here and there the elections of Panchayats in the first phase concluded peacefully.

The counting of votes of Ward Members will be started at 2.00 p.m. and after completing it the votes for the post of Sarpanch will be counted.  The results will be announced today in the evening.  At an average about 65% of the voters franchised their vote in the Panchayat elections held today.

A maximum of 99% of polling is recorded in Pacharlaboru Thanda in Bhongir Mandal in Nalgonda District.


If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)