Ind vs Aus: Oz struggle to score; 134/4

February 22, 2013 18:23
Ind vs Aus: Oz struggle to score; 134/4

Michael Clarke won the toss for the first test of the Gavaskar Border trophy to be played at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai, where the security has been beefed up after the bomb blasts in Hyderabad that claimed the lives of over 22 innocent people. X-Ray scanners were arranged to ensure maximum security.

Winning the toss, Clarke decided to take the bat leaving the rest of the field for Indian side. Bhuvaneshwar Kumar would make his first debut against Australia in this match and this is his opportunity to make a name for himself. With only one spinner in the Australian side, it is a wise choice to go for the bat in the first test.

However, with the strong Indian attack with two mainstream spinners, Harbhajan and Ravichandran Ashwin, the game is going to be a tough one for the Oz side.

The game was off to a brisk start in the morning as David Warner and Ed Cowan were off the mark but soon they had to face disappointments with the dismissal of Cowan who was shortly followed by Philip  Hughes. Shane Watson came in to stabilize the innings and build a steady partnership. All was well until the lunch break by the end of which they were at 126/2.

Ravichandran Ashwin, who bagged two wickets already, took advantage of the break as he broke the partnership of Warner and Shane Watson too right in the first over after lunch. The game turned to the Indian side after he went on further to dismiss Warner leg before at 59 runs.

At the crease are Michael Clarke and Matthew Wade, both just onto the field. Ravichandran Ashwin had a great run already with four wickets in his pocket. Looks like Australian first innings all but done for making it easier for Indians. The score at the moment is 134/4



Ed Cowan

Philip Hughes

Michael Clarke*

Moises Henriques

Mitchell Starc

Nathan Lyon

David Warner

Shane Watson

Matthew Wade†

Peter Siddle

James Pattinson


Sachin Tendulkar

Virender Sehwag

Ishant Sharma

Cheteshwar Pujara

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Ravindra Jadeja

Harbhajan Singh

MS Dhoni*†

Murali Vijay

Virat Kohli

Ravichandran Ashwin

(AW- Anil)

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)