Petrol Pumps To Take Off On Sundays After Modi’s Less Fuel Consumption Regime

April 11, 2017 14:01
Petrol Pumps To Take Off On Sundays After Modi’s Less Fuel Consumption Regime

According to a report in Business Standard, as many as 25,000 petrol pumps, in some parts of the country, will shut its shops, starting from May 14, on every Sunday.

This move is enabled in line with Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s vision for a less consumption of fuel, under the Consortium of Indian Petroleum Dealers (CIPD).

On May 10, there will be “no purchase” of diesel or petrol, says reports. According to an Indian Oil Corporation circular, the dealer commission on petrol currently stands at Rs 2.56 per litre while on diesel, the commission is Rs 1.65 per litre as on April 1.

However, the decision might be a pressure tactics employed by the petrol dealers, for getting a hike, in commission on fuel sale, says reports.

The Consortium of Indian Dealers, claimed that, it has around 25,000 petrol pumps in parts of Maharashtra, and some regions of Southern India.

The All India Petroleum Dealers Association (AIPDA) interestingly, has distanced itself from the announcement, and stated it was not part of the agitation. The CIPD, earlier raised its demand for a hike, in commission on fuel sales. After the public oil companies assured them of a revision in commission rates, the petrol pump owners, in January, withdrew their strike.

However, the Government has still not taken any decision on the demand, but it is now expected that, it will speed up their procedure to rectify appeal.

President of AIPDA, Ajay Bansal, said, “This will create panic. The association that has called for such a move has presence in only Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, and Maharashtra. We are not supporting this decision, while we also have the same demands to increase (dealer's commission).”

CIPD president A D Sathyanarayan, quoted Business Standard, saying, “Except for emergency services like ambulance, fuel will not be available for other vehicles on Sundays.”

“The association is also considering around eight-hour working days from May,” he added.

India has nearly, 56,190 retail outlets, out of which, 52,604 are owned by public oil companies like Indian Oil Corporation, Bharat Petroleum and Hindustan Petroleum. These three PSUs, also control 95% of the market.

Petrol Pumps to Protest After Jan 13, No Cards Will be Accepted

By Supraja

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)