ICC T20 World cup count down begins

September 14, 2012 10:16
ICC T20 World cup count down begins

ICC T20 World Cup count down begins with Hambantota in Sri Lanka, welcoming the international players for the first ever T20 World Cup in the continent. With just four days left for the tournament the world cup fever is running high globally but very high in the island country. Warm up matches have begin between the playing nations and India will be playing in tow of the warm up matches as scheduled below and don't miss the action. The matches that began since yesterday will be stretched till 19 of this month, even though the competition actually begins on September 18.  

•    15 Sep 2012 9:30AM India  vs Sri Lanka
•    17 Sep 2012 2:00PM  India  vs Pakistan

It is known fact that Lasith Malinga of the island has been chosen as the ambassador for the games by ICC. The matches are being played at three venues in Sri Lanka. They are Pallekele Cricket Stadium, at Pallekela, R. Premadasa Stadium, at Colombo and Hambantota's Mahinda Rajapaksa Stadium. The participating twelve countries shall be teamed into four groups. Of these two from each group will graduate to the super eight level which will have two groups of four teams each. From Super Eight, the top two teams will move to the semi-finals. And later the two semi-final winners will play in the final match on October 07.

Host broadcaster and ICC Global Media Rights partner ESPN STAR Sports (ESS) is gearing up its production to make sure the people across the 226 territories. The event is set to reach a record audience of more than 1.5 billion, for the first time.

The Indian contingent includes: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Manoj Tiwary, Rohit Sharma, Irfan Pathan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Zaheer Khan, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Piyush Chawla, Harbhajan Singh, Ashok Dinda.

As per the our stats department in the last three T20 World Cups, Team India has played in 37 matches and won 20, claiming the first world cup title in South Africa in 2007. the ultimate final is still ripe in our memories when India beats Pakistan. Of the 37 matches we lost 15. In the remaining two matches one was tied and the other with no result. That's all for now, but keep watching this space for a ringside analysis of the game by your favorite tweeters. (With inputs from internet-AW AarKay)


If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)