Champions League Twenty20, 2011

September 20, 2011 16:43
Champions League Twenty20,  2011

championsLeague1Champions League an international tournament organized by india will start on friday, September23, 2011. This League T20 2011 consist of 23 Twenty20 matches to be hosted by India in Sep-Oct 2011. It is a part of Future Tour Programs prepared by International Cricket Council(ICC). Champions League Starts as per the cricket schedule announced, Sep-Oct 2011. First T20 match would be between Royal Challengers Bangalore-Chevrolet Warriors on Sep 23, 2011 at 20:00 local time to be played at M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore.

After success of several domestic T20 leagues, ICC decided to initiate an International League comprising club teams from all the cricketing nations. Thus the concept of Champions League Twenty20 was born. The entire tournament is under the joint administration of the cricketing boards of India(BCCI), Australia (CA) and South Africa (CSA). India play host to this prestigious event, as per the announcements of the International Cricket Council. This International league will consist of 23 T20 International matches that play during the period of September-October.

Overall, there are 10 teams. Top club teams from India(Chennai Super Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Mumbai Indians), Australia (NSW Blues and South Australian Redbacks) and South Africa (Cape Cobras and Warriors) will battle it out in the preliminary stages. the remaining 3 teams will be decided after a qualifier between teams from the Caribbean, New Zealand, India, England and Sri Lancka.

The teams have been categorized under 2 groups. The inaugural match will be played between Chevrolet Warriors and Royal Challengers Bangalore on September 23, at the prestigious M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore.

After the qualifying rounds get over, 3 teams will enter into the main competition. 10 teams will fight it out for a place in the semis, after which there is the grand final.

Qualifier: Kolkata Knight Riders(IPL), Trinidad and Tobago (West Indies), auckland Aces (New Zealand), Ruhunu Eleven (Sri Lanka), Somerset (England) and Leicestershire(England).

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)