TDP Seeks Support Of Non-BJP, Non-Congress Parties For No-trust Motion

July 16, 2018 14:53
TDP Seeks Support Of Non-BJP, Non-Congress Parties For No-trust Motion

(Image source from:

TDP Seeks Support Of Non-BJP, Non-Congress Parties For No-trust Motion:- Ahead of the monsoon session of parliament, in a momentous political development, a delegation of the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) will meet non-Congress and non-Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders, according to sources.

Members of Parliament Thota Narasimham and P. Ravindra Babu were scheduled to call on Uddhav Thackeray, Shiv Sena President on Sunday evening, but in vain.

Later, they met Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) leaders and of some else parties in Mumbai.

Though information regarding the meetings or the plan were not disclosed, it is anticipated that the TDP will appeal to various parties to support the Special Category Status (SCS) it has demanded Andhra Pradesh.

Narasimham will likewise hand over a letter and brochure from TDP President and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu, highlighting the "injustice meted out to AP (Andhra Pradesh)" and solicit their espousal of the cause.

The monsoon session of Parliament will be held from July 18-August 10 when the AP Special Category Status issue is probably to figure prominently.

According to media reports, the TDP has made six-subgroups with senior party leaders, who will meet the representatives of other parties.

While one group will meet with All India Trinamool Congress (TMC), Biju Janata Dal (BJD), Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD), and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), while another group will meet with Communist Party of India (CPI), Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPM), Shiv Sena and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP).

The third group was tasked with meeting Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK), Janata Dal (Secular), Samajwadi Party (SP) and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), while another group is scheduled to meet leaders from Janata Dal (United) (JDU), Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), and Lok Janshakti Party (LJP).

On March 16, the TDP and the YSR Congress Party (YSRCP), the chief opposition party in Andhra Pradesh, had likewise moved a no-confidence motion against the government over the issue of special category status for the state.

In March, TDP had pulled out from BJP led New Democratic Party (NDP) alliance in alleging that the Center had not fulfilled promises made during bifurcation.

'Special category status' is a categorization given by the Center to assist in the development of those states that face geographical and socio-economic disadvantages.

Then Prime Minister Manmohan Singh during a discussion on the AP Reorganization Bill, 2014, had assured five years of SCS for the residual state of Andhra Pradesh, but the existing BJP authorities have said that the provision was dropped by the 14th Finance Commission.

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)
Tagged Under :
TDP  Non-BJP  Non-Congress  No-trust Motion  BJP