Rana, Pandya Lead Mumbai Indians To Four-Wicket Win Over SRH

April 13, 2017 11:51
Rana, Pandya Lead Mumbai Indians To Four-Wicket Win Over SRH

The Mumbai Indians (MI), broke Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), winning streak in the second match, with a four-wicket victory at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai, yesterday, in Match 10 of the Indian Premier League 2017.

SRH finished their innings at 158/8, with David Warner and Shikhar Dhawan scoring 49 and 48, respectively. Jasprit Bumrah picked three wickets for MI, while Harbhajan Singh grabbed two. In chase of the MI,  Nitish Rana top-scored with 45 off 36 balls, while Parthiv Patel and Krunal Pandya scored 39 and 37, respectively.

Mumbai Indians Match

Krunal Pandya slammed Ashish Nehra for a four and a six, and then goes one better against Ben Cutting, hitting him for one six and two fours. He raced off to 37 off 19 balls before falling to Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

It was not a rollicking start, for the SRH, as Harbhajan Singh and Lasith Malinga gave away only four runs in the first two overs. But Warner opened up soon after hitting Harbhajan for two consecutive fours. Shikhar Dhawan at the other end struggled to get going but an undeterred Warner went about his business and allowed Dhawan to settle in.

With Warner departing for 49 off 34 in the 11th over, SRH's run-rate dipped but with Dhawan in the middle, the defending champions had the firepower to finish strong. However, when Dhawan departed for 48, SRH had only moved to 114 in the 15th over. In the last five overs, Mumbai Indians came back strongly with Jasprit Bumrah and Malinga leading the charge, giving away only 18 runs as SRH could only get 158 in their 20 overs.

SRH could only add 40 runs to their total in the last five at the expense of four wickets. Yuvraj Singh was cleaned up by Hardik Pandya when the left-hander dragged a short one on to his stumps. The big-hitting Ben Cutting was undone by a perfect Yorker from Bumrah. MI restricted SRH to 158 for eight.

Sunrisers    Vs   Mumbai Indians    
158/8 (20)        159/6 (18.4)

Playing for MI: Rohit Sharma (C), Parthiv Patel (W), Lendl Simmons/Jos Buttler, Ambati Rayudu, Krunal Pandya, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Harbhajan Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mitchell McClenaghan, Tim Southee.

Playing for SRH: David Warner(C), Shikhar Dhawan, Moises Henriques, Yuvraj Singh, Deepak Hooda, Naman Ojha(w), Ben Cutting, Bipul Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rashid Khan, Ashish Nehra.

Score Board:

Mumbai Indians vs Sunrisers Hyderabad ScorecardMumbai Indians vs Sunrisers Hyderabad ScorecardMumbai Indians vs Sunrisers Hyderabad Scorecard

Delhi Dardevils Beat Rising Pune Supergiant By 97 runs First Win In IPL

By Supraja

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)