YSR Congress Decides To Boycott Assembly Sessions

October 26, 2017 15:39
YSR Congress Decides To Boycott Assembly Sessions

(Image source from: Hmtv News)

YSR Congress Decides To Boycott Assembly Sessions:- Demanding that the 20 MLAs, who crossed over from the YSR Congress party to the ruling Telugu Desam Party (TDP), be disqualified forthwith, the opposition YSR Congress has decided to boycott the forthcoming session of the Andhra Pradesh Assembly.

Also, four of those who switched sides and were made cabinet ministers, be dismissed from the government immediately, demanded the YSRC. On Thursday, YSRC Legislature Party’s deputy leader Peddireddy Ramachandra Reddy said, “We can’t sit (in the Assembly) with our heads bowed when a mockery is being made of democracy. Hence, we have decided to boycott the Assembly session, that is expected to begin on November 10.”

“We will not attend the legislature till the MLAs who defected to the TDP are disqualified,” he said.

(Video Source: hmtv News)

A meeting was held by the YSRC Legislature Party, under the chairmanship of Leader of Opposition in AP Assembly, Y S Jaganmohan Reddy on Thursday. “A latest bulletin issued by the Assembly said the YSRC has 66 MLAs. Even four ministers were listed as members of YSRC. Are we part of a coalition government?” Ramachandra Reddy wondered.

“They are making a complete mockery of democracy by not taking any action against the 20 MLAs in the last one-and-a-half year. We will petition the country’s president, the prime minister and the state governor over this,” he said.

In the present 176-member Andhra Pradesh Assembly, the YSRC initially had 67 MLAs. However, since February 2016, as many as 21 of the legislators switched over to the ruling party. Early this year, one of them died of heart attack. In April this year, four of those who crossed over were inducted into Chandrababu Naidu’s cabinet.


If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)