38 TRS MLAs Would Vote For Meira Kumar, Claims Congress

July 07, 2017 11:24
38 TRS MLAs Would Vote For Meira Kumar, Claims Congress

38 TRS MLAs Would Vote For Meira Kumar, Claims Congress:- About 38 MLAs currently in the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) would vote on their conscience for Opposition Presidential nominee Meira Kumar in the July 17 Presidential Elections, claims the Congress Legislature Party (CLP).  

Instead of Ram Nath Kovind, who has been fielded by the National Democratic Alliance, these 38 MLAs would vote for United Progressive Alliance (UPA) nominee Meira Kumar, said CLP legislator and Alampur MLA SA Sampath Kumar.

Addressing the media on Thursday, Sampath Kumar, however, refused to reveal the names of the TRS MLAs, but said that several legislators were in touch with him and had informed him that they would be voting for Meira Kumar.

The Congress was quite hopeful of over 90% of MLAs backing Meira Kumar, as their conscience was against voting for Kovind who had no role in the Telangana statehood movement, said Mr. Sampath Kumar.

Despite several odds on the last sitting of the Lok Sabha in 2014, Meira Kumar was instrumental in passing the Telangana Bill. Without her, the bill would not have been passed, added Mr. Kumar. He further He appealed to Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao to change his mind and vote for Meira Kumar.


If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)