No Takers For Taj Mahal: Adopt A Heritage Scheme

October 26, 2017 09:39
No Takers For Taj Mahal: Adopt A Heritage Scheme

(Image source from:

No Takers For Taj Mahal: Adopt A Heritage Scheme:- The Union Tourism Ministry announced the list of 14 heritage places of the country to be adopted by private groups through a campaign called 'Adopt a Heritage'. India's pride Taj Mahal too made it to the list but unfortunately it attracted no takers. Seven private entities have been issued letters to adopt the heritage sites. Rashmi Verma, Tourism secretary informed that there have been no takers for Taj Mahal however it will be open for adoptation in future.

The other sites listed for maintenance are Delhi's Qutub Minar, Jantar Mantar, Purana Qila, Safdarjung's Tomb and Agrasen ki Baoli, Anjanta and Ellora caves,Odisha's Sun Temple, the ruins of Hampi, Rajarani temple, Ratnagiri monuments, Gangotri Temple premises, Stok Kangri in Ladakh, the Gomukh trail and Mattancherry Place in Kochi. 

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)
Tagged Under :
Adopt a Heritage  Taj Mahal