Fake Website on the Name of PM Modi Created, Accused Arrested

January 27, 2017 09:24
Fake Website on the Name of PM Modi Created, Accused Arrested

After Prime Minister Narendra Modi launched the ambitious mission of Digital India, it has become a new tool for cheating people.

In a way to cheat people, a website was created for an institute offering courses in Information Technology in the form of promoting the Digital Indian mission. The website is presently under the CBI scanner.

The website was named after Prime Minister Narendra Modi. As soon as CBI's policy division received a complaint from Prime Minister's Office it started to investigate. In the complaint, it was mentioned about a website www.nmcsm.in (Narendra Modi Computer Shaksharta Mission) that claims to be an institute having courses on the learning computer.

As per the complaint filed in 2016, the CBI was told that "two persons named Atul Kumar and Jagmohan Singh from Uttar Pradesh have misused the name of the Prime Minister to cheat people by creating a fake website and collecting money from people in the garb of giving admissions and opening franchise. The Central Bureau of Investigation registered the case against Atul Kumar and Jagmohan Singh for misusing the name of Prime Minister of India."

CBI added that "those arrested has been booked for criminal conspiracy, cheating and online fraud."

Digital India

Based on the preliminary investigation, the agency revealed that "the two have claimed them as the president and secretary of the institute. They have declared the website as a corporate entity with the registered office in Delhi. They also claimed to have a nationwide network of e-connection authorised training centres, across the country."

In the website, addresses of their regional offices were said to be in Delhi, Aligarh and Pune. The mode of payment for registering for the course was through demand draft instead of cash.

The CBI said "it is an online fraud and the aspect of acceptance of money by the way of demand drafts needs to thoroughly probe.

The CBI while registering the case also mentioned the details of the website to give it an authentic look. The website claims to have been registered under Public Society and Trust Act, as an autonomous organisation. It has declared itself as ISO certified, and even used trademark 'TM' with the name NMCSM. "

The website says, "NMCSM develops students by providing an environment for personal growth, opportunity, knowledge, exposure, personal attention and career direction. This is in line with the nation's aspiration, which is to build a generation of professionals catering to a knowledge-based economy to meet upcoming challenges."

PM Narendra Modi Pays Homage to Subhas Chandra Bose


If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)