Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awards 2016

August 29, 2016 13:39
Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awards 2016

On the occasion of world’s sports day, fifteen sportspersons have been honoured with Arjuna awards. Four athletes PV Sindhu, Dipa Karmakar, Jitu Rai and Sakshi Malik have been honoured with the prestigious Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award by Indian President Pranab Mukherjee on Monday in New Delhi. Fifteen sportspersons were honoured with the Arjuna Award and three with the Dhyan Chand Award. Apart from the medal, the Khel Ratna awardees will receive a cash prize of Rs 7.5 lakhs.

The Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs.5 lakh each. The Punjabi University of Patiala has been awarded with Maulana Abdul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy. A committee headed by Justice SK Agarwal finalized the prestigious Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna awards along with Arjuna awards. Mary Kom headed the committee for Dronacharya Awards and Dhyan Chand Awards.

(Video Source: Doordarshan National)

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)
Tagged Under :
PV Sindhu  Dipa Karmakar  Jitu Rai  Sakshi Malik