Landslide victory for TRS in GHMC elections

February 05, 2016 17:54
Landslide victory for TRS in GHMC elections

TRS is said to be leading in as many as 100 divisions, while MIM in 35 and TDP-BJP in 10 divisions. The counting of votes for Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation election has begun at 3 PM on Friday. The counting of all the 149 Divisions for which polling was held on February 2 has begun. As the re-polling of Puranapul is on, the results will be announced only after 5 pm.

Congress, BJP, TDP, AIMIM and TRS are among the top parties contesting this election. 33,60,543 voters out of the toal 74,23,980 cast their votes. The election is a test that will finalise about the popularity factor of TRS in Hyderabad. The party has been in the limelight after their great victory in the Warangal Lok Sabha bypoll which was held recently. The strength of Asaduddin Owaisi-led AIMIM, Congress and the TDP-BJP combine will be also be decided in this election.

Going by the trends at the counting centers, the ruling TRS is leading in majority of divisions.

6: 00 PM: Vikram Goud who contested from Jam Bagh ward lost the elections. He was Congress party’s Mayor candidate.

5: 55 PM: According to early reports, TRS may win in Hyderabad.

5: 45 PM: TRS finalises victory in in Madhapur and Kukatpally.

5: 42 PM: TRS candidate Hameed Patel wins with a majority of 5000 votes in Kondapur.

5: 35 PM: As per the latest trends the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) was leading on 101 seats and is followed by MIM which was leading on 36. The TDP-BJP was leading on 9, while Congress was leading on 3 seats. Independent was leading on one seat.

5: 30 PM: The trends are completely one sided and TRS looks to come back with a comfortable majority. For AIMIM it is a huge setback as they were hoping to win major chunk of the seats. It is a big victory for TRS close on their win in the Lok Sabha bypoll.

5: 26 PM: Congress candidate Shanker Yadav wins in Patancheru. TRS candidate in Vivekanandanagar wins

5: 22 PM: TRS  defeats former Mayor and Congress leader Kartheeka Reddy in Tarkana.

5: 20 PM: TRS party wins Kukatpally ward.

5: 10 PM: TRS is currently leading  in 92 wards. MIM is ahead in 40, TDP has maintained lead in 5 wards. BJP has secured lead 1 and Congress in 1.

4: 50 PM: Three rounds of counting have concluded at most centres in Hyderabad.

4: 35 PM: Mumtaz College center vote counting ends.

4: 30 PM: Puranapul re-polling ends, 43 percent voting registered.

4: 20 PM: Counting process if being recorded and sent to center of GHMC Headquarter.

4: 00 PM: TRS lead in Madhapur with 973 and Miyapoor 458 votes.

3: 55 PM: 1st round counting of counting has been completed at most centres. Result to be declared only after Puranapul re-polling.

3: 30 PM: Greater Hyderabad Municipal corporation (GHMC) election counting of votes have begun at 24 centres. Postal ballots go first. Security has been tightened across the city.

By Premji

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)
Tagged Under :
GHMC elections  TRS  AIMIM  BJP  TDP  Congress