President refuses to clear 10 state bills since Modi took over

April 20, 2015 11:43
President refuses to clear 10 state bills since Modi took over

President Pranab Mukherjee has refused assent to 10 pending state bills, most of them from non-BJP ruled states, since the NDA government came to power at the Centre.

He has so far given nod to 28 Bills pending with the states including the contentious Gujarat Lokayukta Bill. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who was CM of Gujarat before taking over Manmohan Singh at South Block, was at loggerhead with Governor Kamla Beniwal over this Bill.

The Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA), which is entitled to scrutinise Bills passed by various state governments so that it does not overlap with Central Acts, informed that 45 bills were brought to the notice of the President after BJP-led NDA government assumed charge.

Few Bills which were formulated and passed by the BJP governments in states are among the 10 Bills rejected by the President. They are: Karnataka State Innovative Universities Bill, 2011; Himachal Pradesh Electricity (Taxation on Generation) Bill, 2011; Himachal Pradesh Special Courts (Attachment and Confiscation of Property) Bill, 2011.

The remaining 7 Bills in the list are: Andhra Pradesh Self Help Group Women (leasing of agriculture land) Bill, 2010; Assam Gratuity (Amendment) Bill, 2009; Factories (Karnataka Amendment) Bill, 2011; Poison (Meghalaya Amendment) Bill, 2013; Manipur Protection of Depositors (in Financial Establishments) Bill, 2012; UP State Authority for Minority Educational Institutions Bill, 2011; TN Business facilitation Bill, 2009; Himachal Pradesh Special Courts (attachment and confiscation of property) Bill, 2011.

- Manohar

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)