UP government changes the names of 8 districts

July 23, 2012 17:57
UP government changes the names of 8 districts

On Monday, the Uttar Pradesh government had changed the names of 8 districts which were renamed in the rule of Mayawati, sources said.
Akhilesh Yadav, the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh who was the leading a cabinet meeting had taken the decision.

Chhatrapati Shahuji Maharaj Nagar, which was earlier known as Amethi, will henceforth be known as Gauriganj and Rambai Nagar as Kanpur dehat.
Districts of Bheem Nagar, Prabuddha Nagar and Pancheel Nagar would now be called Bahjoi, Shamli and Hapur respectively.

The names of Kanshiram Nagar, Mahamaya Nagar and JP Nagarhave also been changed as Kasganj, Hathras and Amroha respectively.
During the BSP rule the King George Medical University, KGMU, was renamed as Chatrapathi Shahuji Mahraj Medical University but now the original name has been restored.

(AW- Anil)

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)