Lok Sabha suspends 8 Cong MPs for ruckus over T

April 24, 2012 15:11
Lok Sabha suspends 8 Cong MPs for ruckus over T

The deputy speaker of Lok Sabha has suspended eight Congress MPs for creating ruckus over Telangana issue the moment the session started on the first day of the second part of the budget session. The MPs have been suspended with immediate effect for four days.

The MPs moved towards the speaker’s podium and raised slogans in support of bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh. They even display placards and demanded the Centre to carve out Telangana state. Even as the union home minister P Chidambaram and the parliament affairs minister tried to persuade the leaders to settle in their seats, all their efforts went in vain.

Earlier, TDP handed over the letter to the speaker Meira Kumar and asked her to suspend Question Hour to take up the debate on Telangana issue. The speaker said she would permit the discussion on the issue in Zero Hour.

Since the MPs created ruckus, the house was adjourned till 2 PM. Immediately after the session resumed, the house declared the suspension of eight MPs for the ruckus.

The MPs who got suspended include Ponnam Prabhakar, Guththa Sukhender Reddy, Manda Jagannatham, Vivek, Rajagopal Reddy, Madhu Yashki and Balaram Naik. (Phani)

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)