Chiru to replace Dasari in Rajya Sabha

February 29, 2012 13:08
Chiru to replace Dasari in Rajya Sabha

Mega star Chiranjeevi’s climb up to the Rajya Sabha is almost certain in the forthcoming round of biennial elections paving the way for his elevation to the Union Cabinet.

Dasari Narayana Rao, K Keshava Rao, G Sanjeeva Reddy and Rashid Alvi of the congress party, M V Mysoora Reddy from the TDP and Syed Aziz Pasha from the CPI will retire from Rajya Sabha on April 2.

Biennial elections will be held to fill the six seats falling vacant on April 2.

Sources said the congress high command has made a promise to Chiru on his induction into the cabinet and the party leadership is committed to keep its promise to him come what may. The promise was made to him for seeking the PRP’s merger with the congress, according to reports.

Chiranjeevi will be accommodated in the seat falling vacant in place of Dasari Narayana Rao. Ironically, both of them hail from the Kapu community but they are not in good terms with each other.

Congress party insiders say Dasari is also trying his best to get nominated again but the high command is not favorably disposed towards him in this round.

Retiring members K. Keshava Rao and G. Sanjeeva Reddy are likely to be nominated again as a special case. While Keshava Rao is from Telangana, Sanjeeva Reddy is a trade union leader. In case Sanjeeva Reddy gets nominated from another state, his vacancy may be filled up by KR Suresh Reddy, former speaker.

Former Minister Shabbir Ali is also trying hard for party ticket for the biennial elections using his clout with Union Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad. If the party high command decides in his favour, he may be accommodated in place of Rashid Alvi.

As per the reports, party spokesperson Renuka Choudary is also in the fray for the biennial elections. (J)

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)